group of lacrosse players celebrating with coach during daytime

British Columbia Junior Lacrosse League Final Tables 1997-1999

BCJLL 1997

British Columbia Junior Lacrosse League 1997

1Burnaby Lakers2019131838
2Port Coquitlam Saints2017330034
3Coquitlam Adanacs20101018920
4New Westminster Salmonbellies2081220516
5Victoria Shamrocks2061419612
6South Fraser Stickmen20020960

BCJLL 1998

BCJLL British Columbia Junior Lacrosse League 1998

1Burnaby Lakers25250050
2Port Coquitlam Saints251410029
3South Fraser Stickmen251113023
4Coquitlam Adanacs251015020
5Victoria Shamrocks25817016
6New Westminster Salmonbellies25619012

Note: One Tie Between Port Coquitlam Saints and South Fraser Stickmen not shown in Standings

BCJLL 1999

BCJLL British Columbia Junior Lacrosse League 1999

1Burnaby Lakers2525033250
2Victoria Shamrocks2517824034
3South Fraser Stickmen25131120927
4New Westminster Salmonbellies2591618918
4Port Coquitlam Saints2581518518
6Coquitlam Adanacs251231873

Note: Two Ties not shown in Standings: South Fraser Stickmen v Coquitlam Saints and Port Coquitlam Saints v Coquitlam Adanacs


Of interest to Irish readers in the British Columbia Junior Lacrosse League of 1997 to 1999 is the Victoria Shamrocks, a team to replace the Victoria Eagles and given the name of Ireland’s National Flower. Based in the biggest city on Vancouver Island, off the West Coast of Canada in British Columbia, the Shamrocks went 6-14 in their debut season, finishing 5th of 6 teams, four points behind New Westminster Salmonbellies but well ahead of South Fraser Stickmen.

In their second season in 1998 the Shamrocks won 8 games out of 25, again finishing 5th of 6, ahead of New Westminster Salmonbellies this time, but four points behind Coquitlam Adonacs. A big improvement for the Shamrocks was seen in their third season, when they finished second behind Burnaby Lakers with a 17-8 record, seven points ahead of third-placed South Fraser Stickmen.

There were no playoffs from 1997 to 1999 after a brief introduction in 1996, but the playoffs were to return in 2000. The Champions every year, Burnaby Lakers (going 69-1 during this three-year span), represented British Columbia in the Minto Cup for the Canadian Junior Lacrosse Championship, twice ,losing to Whitby Warriors (1997 and 1999) and winning the Championship in 1998 at the expense of Six Nations Arrows.

Lacrosse Stock Image

group of lacrosse players celebrating with coach during daytime
Photo by Pixabay on


[1] Dave Stewart Candy (2020) “1999 British Columbia Junior Lacrosse League”  Canadian Lacrosse Almanac 1867-2021. pg. 180. [Internet] Available from: ][Actual Download link at: [Accessed 12 November 2021]


Thanks to Dave Stewart-Candy (Old School Lacrosse)


Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 18 December 2021

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2021

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved. The Logos and Photos used in this article remain the property of the organisations and individuals which own the copyright and are used here for educational and information purposes only.

Leave a Reply