Spring Football League 2000

Spring Football League Logo [Reference: 3]

Final Standings

*Houston Marshals220056231.000
*San Antonio Matadors220042161.000
Los Angeles Dragons20202137.000
Miami Tropics20201861.000
Spring Football League Standings 2000 [Reference: 2]


DateHome TeamAway Team
Week 1
29.04.2000Houston Marshals16Los Angeles Dragons13
29.04.2000San Antonio Matadors21Miami Tropics8
Week 2
06.05.2000Los Angeles Dragons8San Antonio Matadors21
06.05.2000Houston Marshals40Miami Tropics10
Spring Football League Results 2000 [Reference: 2]


The Spring Football League of 2000 was founded by Ex-NFL players Eric Dickerson (Los Angeles Rams), Bo Jackson (Los Angeles Raiders) Tony Dorsett (Dallas Cowboys) among others. It set a 4-team 4-game schedule for its first season in 2000, to test the waters for a full League and Schedule for 2001.

The first season, dubbed “Festival 2000” only lasted 2 of the 4 game weeks, and the planned Championship Game was scrapped, with the Houston Marshals and San Antonio Matdors, both unbeaten on 2-0 records, declared Co-Champions. The demise of the League was due to the founding of the XFL by the WWF – World Wide Wrestling (now WWE) owners, and the low attendances, more like Junior High School Games than a AAA Pro League.


[1] Remember the SFL (2019) History [Internet] Available from: https://sites.google.com/site/rememberthesfl/history [Accessed 31 December 2019]

[2] Remember the SFL (2019) Standings [Internet] Available from: https://sites.google.com/site/rememberthesfl/standings [Accessed 31 December 2019]


[3] Remember the SFL (2019) League Logo [Internet] Available from: https://sites.google.com/site/rememberthesfl/_/rsrc/1472874842074/logos/logo.gif [Accessed 31 December 2019]


Thanks to Fiona Corrigan

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 31 December 2019

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2019

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply