Junior Quebec Rugby Football Union (Canadian Football) 1900-1906

Present-day Canadian Junior Football League Logo [Ref: 1]

JQRFU 1900

McGill University FC III55007416
Pointe St.Charles Rugby Club5410739
Montreal AAA III53204435
Britannia III FC52301634
Westmount II Rugby Club51403339
Montreal Shamrocks Rugby Club50502109
Junior Quebec Rugby Football Union Standings 1900 [Ref: 2]

JQRFU 1901

*Britannia III FC54104120
*McGill University FC III 54105015
*Quebec City II Jrs54103811
Westmount II Rugby Club52304932
Montreal AAA III51402252
Montreal Shamrocks Rugby Club5050575
Junior Quebec Rugby Football Union Standings 1901 [Ref: 2]
Britannia III FC8McGill University FC III 0
Britannia III FC9Quebec II Jrs2
Junior Quebec Rugby Football Union Playoffs 1901 [Ref: 2]

JQRFU 1902

+Westmount II Rugby Club (C)4400390
Montreal AAA III42202234
Britannia III FC4040937
Junior Quebec Rugby Football Union Standings 1902 [Ref: 2]

JQRFU 1903

+Westmount II Rugby Club (C)5500663
Grand Trunnk Jrs54105031
Montreal Shamrocks Rugby Club53203514
Montreal AAA III52301159
Strathcona Jrs40401045
Britannia II FC4040020
Junior Quebec Rugby Football Union Standings 1903 [Ref: 2]

JQRFU 1904

+Montreal AAA III (C)22001124
Montreal Shamrocks Rugby Club312013152
Westmount Rugby Club III312012192
Junior Quebec Rugby Football Union Standings 1904 [Ref: 2]

JQRFU 1905

+Quebec City Jrs (C)22003724
Outremonts Jrs20202370
Junior Quebec Rugby Football Union Standings 1905 [Ref: 2]

JQRFU 1906

Montreal AAA III2200180
Grand Trunk FC101005
Westmont Jrs III1010013
Junior Quebec Rugby Football Union Standings 1906 [Ref: 2]

(C) Junior Quebec Rugby Football Union Champions + Qualify for Provincial Championship versus winners of Quebec Independent Junior Football League.


The Junior Quebec Rugby Football Union was one of two Canadian Football Junior Leagues in Quebec for the period 1902 to 1905, with the Quebec Independent Junior Football league being the other. The Champions of the two Leagues played a Provincial Championship Series between them.

The winners of the JQRFU from 1900 to 1906 were McGill University FC III (1900), Britannia III FC (1901), Westmount II Rugby Club (1902, 1903), Montreal AAA III (1904, 1906), Quebec City Jrs (1905). of interest to Irish readers in the appearance of Montreal Shamrocks Rugby Club who played from 1900 to 1904, getting better as the years progressed.

The Canadian Junior Football League has been running Amateur Province-based Championships for players aged 18-23 since 1887, under various names (Canadian Rugby Union, Canadian Junior Football League). In Canada Gridiron Football was known as Rugby until the Canadian Football League split away from the Canadian Rugby Union in 1958 to form its own Professional League and adopt more American Football Rules. The sport has been known as Canadian Football since. (For more on Canadian Football history see: Canadian Football Leagues



[1] Canadian Junior Football League | Facebook (2011) CJFL Profile Picture: March 3, 2011 [Internet] Available from: https://scontent-dub4-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t31.0-8/s720x720/172369_166507693399012_2554406_o.jpg?_nc_cat=108&_nc_eui2=AeEmInrSy7Bp5Q4nj_j07-ZNBsVadK5KjxZ41fzEaVCISv70yVik13v0v3zYpBxRgsfUNu-p8l9wNdwiUtbFgjxmLVz-GqrX6CXGQ0Q1t3vEOg&_nc_ohc=qW-lYWvPX78AQld50UAOtsqMmpIdM9heSa3xodVrfPzv-6YUYkLSkRtlA&_nc_ht=scontent-dub4-1.xx&oh=6d635c510b3954231714cee2128f1767&oe=5E6D4BE8%5BAccessed 20 December 2019]


[2] British Columbia Football Conference (2019) CJFL Records | All Time Standings [Internet] Available from: https://cdn4.sportngin.com/attachments/document/0132/8193/Team_Standings_1887-2016.pdf?_ga=2.223530395.1807741386.1558376670-2095904572.1558376670 [Accessed 21 May 2019]


Thanks to Robert Burns. Judith Burns, Steve Hearn, Anton Pippo O’Grady, John Wills, John Morahan & John Kane.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American & World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 9 July 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply