International Rules Hurling-Shinty | Ireland v Scotland 2000-2009

Ireland v Scotland 2000-2009


Date Location Home   Away  
2000 Croke Park Ireland 2-10-15 (57) Scotland 3-3-5 (32)
2002 Croke Park Ireland 2-0-13 (19) Scotland 4-1-1 (15)
2003 Fort William Scotland 3-7 (16) Ireland 5-9 (24)
2004 Ratoath Ireland 3-10 (19) Scotland 4-7 (19)
2005 Bught Park Scotland 20 Ireland 17
2006 Croke Park Ireland 2-5 (11) Scotland 2-13 (19)
2008 Durrow Ireland 1-9 (12) Scotland 1-10 (13)
2009 Bught Park Scotland 1-8 (11) Ireland 1-11 (14)





Venue Location
Bught Park Inverness, Highlands, Scotland
Croke Park Dublin, Ireland
Cusack Park Ennis, Co. Clare, Ireland
Pairc Esler Newry, Co. Down, Ireland
Fort William Highlands, Scotland
Athy Co. Kildare, Ireland
Ratoath Co. Meath, Ireland




The first Hurling-Shinty International Rules match was played back in 1897 in Glasgow between Cowal (Scotland) and Celtic (Dublin). [1]

There have been regular Internationals between Ireland and Scotland since 2000.

Shinty is very similar to Hurling and the two games would have the same Gaelic Celtic origin with Shinty most popular in Gaelic Scots part of Scotland, particularly the Highlands. The game, however, does not include over-the-bar points, only goals and there is less play in the air than in Hurling.

The International Rules series includes points-over-the-bar and in the early 2000s included ‘behinds’ like in International Rules Football between Ireland and Australia.

The scoring system is three points for a goal and one for a point (over-the-bar). In 2012 an experimental scoring system was used whereby a goal was worth 5 points. From 2000-2003 a scoring system was employed whereby a goal was worth 6 points, an ‘over’ 3 points, and a ‘behind’ (a score into posts either side of the two main posts) 1 point.

13-a-side or 14-a-side have both been employed, halfway between Hurling’s 15-a-side and Shinty’s 12-a-side. Bot teams play with their own sticks, so it is a game played with two different sets of equipment.

Ireland and Scotland have shared honours almost equally, with Ireland going on a winning streak from 2000-2003, before Scotland won from 2005-2008.

In 2010 the series became a home-and-away series with the aggregate score over two legs deciding the winners.







[1] (2000) “SHINTY”. Nenagh Guardian. Saturday, October 21, 2000. pg. 18-19

[2] (2000) “Gantley shunts Shinty stars”. Irish Independent. Monday, October 16, 2000. p. 26-27.

[3] (2002) “Clinical O’Leary and Keane sink Scotland”. Irish Independent. Monday, October 21, 2002. p. 40-41.

[4] (2003) “Ireland 24 Scotland 16”. Irish Independent. Monday, October 27, 2003. p. 34.

[5] (2004) “Ireland 3-10 Scotland 4-7”. Irish Independent. Monday, October 18, 2004. p. 30-31.

[6] (2005) “Loughlin’s heroics not enough to save Irish unbeaten run”. Irish Independent. Monday, October 10, 2005. p. 46-47.

[7] (2006) “Shinty double for Scotland”. Irish Independent. Monday, November 6, 2006. p. 38-39.

[8] (2008) “GAA Scoreboard: Shinty”. Irish Independent. Monday, October 20, 2008. p. 26-27.

[9] (2009) “Dooley goal ends six-year wait for title”. Irish Independent. Monday, November 2, 2009. pp. 46-47.


Past copies of the Irish Independent and Nenagh Guardian can be found at the Irish Newspaper Archive which is a subscription service:



[22] Donegal Daily (2017) GAA Logo [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 2 December 2017]

[23] Camanachd Association (2017) Camanachd Association Logo [Internet] [Accessed 9 March 2018]




Thanks to Conor Connolly-Mulcahy & Dara Conolly-Mulcahy


About this document


Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 13 January 2019

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2019

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Resereved.

Leave a Reply