Australian Rules Football League of Ireland Women’s Draft Cup 2017

Australian Rules Football League of Ireland Womens Logo

west-clare-waves-arfli-womens-draft-cup-champions-2017Islandbridge, Dublin, 25 November 2017

Pool Ladders

Pool 1       
*West Clare waves3300161012
Portadown Power321090729
Dungannon Dockers3120341126
Midland Giants3030431443
Pool 2       
*North East Kookaburras33001842512
North West Shamrocks3210157479
Dublin Angels3120301546
UCC Crusaders303071523

Table Compiled from [2]

Grand Final[2]

DateTeam 1 Team 2 
 Grand Final
25.11.2017West Clare Waves21North East Kookaburras1


Pool Results

DateTeam 1 Team 2 
 Pool 1
25.11.2017Midland Giants0West Clare Waves74
25.11.2017Portadown Power41Dungannon Dockers13
25.11.2017West Clare Waves53Dungannon Dockers0
25.11.2017Portadown Power49Midland Giants25
25.11.2017Dungannon Dockers21Midland Giants18
25.11.2017West Clare Waves34Portadown Power0
 Pool 2
25.11.2017UCC Crusaders6Dublin Angels30
25.11.2017North West Shamrocks25North East Kookaburras46
25.11.2017North East Kookaburras47UCC Crusaders0
25.11.2017Dublin Angels0North West Shamrocks57
25.11.2017North East Kookaburras91Dublin Angels0
25.11.2017UCC Crusaders1North West Shamrocks75





West Clare Waves – Womens Draft Cup Champions 2017

Ellie O’ Gorman – Joanne Moore – Yvonne Downes – Ailish Considine – Adrienne Moore – Laura Egan – Niamh Greene – Rosie Curran (C) – Aoife O’ Reilly[3]

Grand Final: West Clare Waves 21 North East Kookaburras 1

West Clare Waves won the Inaugural Women’s Draft Cup defeating North East Kookaburras in a close Final. Ailish Considine, Niamh Greene and Laura Egan scored the goals which gave them victory.[2]

Pool 1:

Midland Giants 0 West Clare Waves 74: Ailish Considine scored six goals and Niamh Greene two, and Rosie Curran, Laura Egan and Yvonne Downes also scored goals as the West Clare Waves opened the Cup with a resounding win over the Midland Giants.[2]

Portadown Power 41 Dungannon Dockers 13: Clodagh and Hayley McCann each scored two goals and Liv McCann and Danielle Morgan also scored for the Portadown Power as they overcame neighbours Dungannon Dockers. Lauren O’Gorman scored Dungannon’s two goals.[2]

West Clare Waves 53 Dungannon Dockers 0: West Clare Waves continued their winning start with a 53-0 win over the northerners. Ailish Considine again top-scored with 5 goals, Laura Egan scored two and Niamh Greene was again on the scoresheet as they ran out comfortable winners.[2]

Portadown Power 49 Midland Giants 25: Portadown Power set up a showdown for the Pool top-spot with a win over the Midlanders. Hayley McCann and Danielle Morgan each scored three goals and Liv McCann one to give them victory. Geraldine McManus and Molly Cullen scored the giants two goals.[2]

Dungannon Dockers 21 Midland Giants 18: A closely fought encounter between the two bottom teams in the pool saw Dungannon emerge narrow winners. Colleen McCance and Fidelma Fallon scored the goals for Dungannon and Megan Creegan, Geraldine McManus and Amanda McGinn scored for the Midland Giants.[2]

West Clare Waves 34 Portadown Power 0: West Clare Waves had another shutout to top their pool. Ailish Considine and Niamh Greene scored two goals each and Aoife O’Reilly one to give them the win.[2]

Pool 2:

UCC Crusaders 6 Dublin Angels 30: Molly Cullen scored two goals for the Angels and Candice Jewell, Aisling Gillespie and Rachael McGee one each as the opened the pool with victory over UCC. The Crusaders sole goal was scored by Lisa Lovell.[2]

North West Shamrocks 25 North East Kookaburras 46: North East Kookaburras opened their account with a victory in a high scoring match with their Ulster rivals. Carolann Cassidy scored two, and Rachael McGee and Aisling Gillespie scored for the Shamrocks. The Kookaburras scorers were Colleen Quinn with six goals (including 1 super goal) and Amanda McGinn.[2]

North East Kookaburras 47 UCC Crusaders 0: North East Kookaburras shut out the students for their second win of the tournament. Monica Whelan scored two goals, and there were one each from Julie Curran, Jade McGee, Ciara Durnien, Fiona Roarty, and Colleen Quinn.[2]

Dublin Angels 0 North West Shamrocks 57: The Shamrocks won comfortably against the Angels as Eimear Gallagher scored three, Carolann Cassidy and Shauna Gordon two each, and Aisling Gillespie and Rachael McGee one each.[2]

North East Kookaburras 91 Dublin Angels 0: The Kookaburras wrapped up the pool top spot with a huge win over the Dublin Angels. Collen Quinn scored four including one super goal, and Monica Whelan, Julie Curran and Jade McGee two each for the Ulster side. Ciara Durnien and Lynsey McCavery also got on the scoresheet with one apiece to set up a Grand Final with West Clare.[2]

UCC Crusaders 1 North West Shamrocks 75: There was another comfortable win to finish off the group, the Shamrocks running out 75-1 winners over UCC. Scorers for the Shamrocks were Rachael McGee with 5 goals including one super goal, Aisling Gillespie two, also including a super goal, and Carolann Cassidy and Shauna Gordon with one goal each as the Shamrocks finished in second place in the pool.[2]

Players and Awards


Team of the Tournament

Molly CullenDublin Angels
Maeve O’GormanUCC Crusaders
Lauren O’GormanDungannon Dockers
Megan CreeganMidland Giants
Collen QuinnNorth East Kookaburras
Danielle MorganPortadown Power
Aisling GillespieNorth West Shamrocks
Ailsish ConsidineWest Clare Waves


Player Awards

Player of the TournamentCollen QuinnNorth East Kookaburras
Golden Boot AwardAilish Considine (14 Goals)West Clare Waves



Colleen Quinn: Player of the Tournament[5]


West Clare Waves captain Rosie Currane and Golden Boot Winner Aisling Considine[4]




[1] Arfli Womens Facebook Page (2017) Profile Picture November 10 2017 [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 29 November 2017]

[2] ARFLI (2017) ARFLIW Draft Cup a Great Success [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 13 February 2018]

[3] Arfli Womens Facebook Page (2017) Photo November 25 2017 [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 29 November 2017]

[4] ARFLI (2017) ARFLIW Draft Cup a Great Success: West Clare Waves captain Rosie Currane with the ARFLIW Draft Cup with Ailish Considine, Golden Boot Winner and Team of the Tournament. [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 13 February 2018]

[5] ARFLI (2017) ARFLIW Draft Cup a Great Success: Player of the Tournament Colleen Quinn with Michael Currane and Olivia McCann [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 13 February 2018]

Arfli Womens Facebook Page (2017) Post November 25 2017 [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 29 November 2017]

Arfli Womens Facebook Page (2017) Post November 27 2017 [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 29 November 2017]


Thanks to Nora Mulcahy

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 29 March 2019

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2019

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply